December 29, 2008 @ Xcel Energy Center 6:00


First Period
Mtka, Max Gardiner, 13:35 (ea).

Second Period
HM, Nick Widing (Chris Casto, Alex Kelly), 11:20 (pp).

Third Period
Mtka, Derek Frawley (Troy Hesketh, Thomas Schutt), 13:28.
Mtka, Sam Coatta (Jake Thornberg), 16:40 (en).

Shots by period

HM - Tim Shaughnessy50219L
Mtka - Jim Kruger51122W

Power Plays Goals Attempts Time

Game Recap

Minnetonka defeated Hill-Murray for the second year in a row in holiday tournament play. Derek Frawley's perfect tip of a long low shot with 3:32 to play was the game winner.

Minnetonka had all of the game's offense in the first thirteen and a half minutes as Hill-Murray goalie Tim Shaughnessy kept the game scoreless with several good saves. On a delayed penalty, Jake Thornberg cut to the slot and wristed a shot over the goalie's glove for a 1-0 lead.

Hill-Murray generally had the territorial edge at even strength between the Skipper goals, but stifling defense on both ends left few open opportunities. Nick Widing scored the Pioneers' only goal, on a second period power play, burying a rebound of Chris Casto's one timer. With the score still 1-1, Tyler Zepeda nearly finished a three way passing play with a backhand from close range, but the puck deflected into the air and was batted off the goal line by a defenseman.

Minnetonka withstood pressure in their own zone in the final before before Sam Coatta scored the clincher into an empty net with 20 seconds left.

Copyright 1999-2024