1971-1972 Hill-Murray Hockey

Independent State Champion
Region 7 Champion
Central Catholic Conference Champion
  • Hill High School merged with the all-girls' Archbishop Murray Memorial High School prior to the school year, creating Hill-Murray High School. The Hill High School site is now occupied by Mounds Park Academy.
  • The hockey team continued what it had been doing, reaching the state championship game for the fourth straight year. Hill-Murray reclaimed the state title, again besting Duluth Cathedral in the final.
  • Defenseman and captain Dave Langevin went to Minnesota-Duluth and was drafted by the New York Islanders (NHL) and Edmonton Oilers (WHA) while there. Langevin played several seasons with the Oilers and was reclaimed by the Islanders after the NHL/WHA merger. His name is engraved on the Stanley Cup four times, one for each championship won by the Islanders from 1980-1983.

11/24White Bear Lake4-2WAldrich
11/26North St. Paul6-3WAldrich
11/29Archbishop Brady*5-2WAldrich
12/12St. Bernard's*10-2WAldrich
12/19St. Thomas Academy*4-2WAldrich
12/20Greenway2-3L (OT)West Range Arena
12/21Grand Rapids2-6LIRA (Grand Rapids)
12/23St. Paul Johnson2-1W (OT)Aldrich
12/24Benilde*5-4WSt. Louis Park Arena
12/27De La Salle*12-1WAldrich
12/29Thief River Falls2-3LRoseau
1/1St. Paul Harding2-1WAldrich
1/2St. Agnes*3-1WAldrich
1/9Archbishop Brady*5-2WAldrich
1/10Frank B. Kellogg2-0WRoseville Arena
1/23St. Bernard's*15-0WAldrich
1/30St. Thomas Academy*6-2WAldrich
2/6De La Salle*6-1WAldrich
2/20St. Agnes*7-1WAldrich
Region 6 Playoffs
State Independent Tournament
3/3Crookston Cathedral8-4WAldrich
3/5Duluth Cathedral3-2WAldrich

Final Record 24-4-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Andre Beaulieu

1Dave SpannbauerG11
2Rick BeldeD9
3Dave Langevin (C)D12
4Dick Spannbauer (C)D12
5Steve DavisC9
6Joe NelsonW11
7Mike BeldeW10
8Dave GervaisW11
9Scott LangevinW10
10Tim WhislerC12
11Mark KlosnerD9
12John PierceW10
14Mike HorvathW11
15Bob GrabowskiC12
16Gerry PetersW12
17Mark SheakW9
18Vincent RileyD10
19Mike LarsonD9
20Tim DohertyW12
21Steve JanaszakG9

Pioneer Press All-state: Dick Spannbauer (1st team), Joe Nelson (2nd team)
All tournament team: Tim Whisler, Rick Belde, Dave Langevin
All conference: Tim Whisler, Joe Nelson, Scott Langevin, Dave Langevin, Dick Spannbauer, Rick Belde

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net