1983-1984 Hill-Murray Hockey

Section 3 Champion
St. Paul City Conference Co-Champion
  • Hill-Murray spent the season battling Johnson for supremacy on the East Side. The Pioneers beat the Governors 5-2 in the last game of the regular season, earning a share of the City Conference title as both teams finished 15-1. Johnson then advanced to the state tournament for the first time in 13 years, setting up a rubber match against Hill-Murray in the first round, which was won by Johnson 3-2 on a late third period goal.
  • Another rivalry that emerged was with White Bear Lake, which was newly integrated with Mariner. In Hill-Murray's first appearance in the Edina Holiday Classic, the Bears won 4-2, ending Hill-Murray's 33 game winning streak, but the Pioneers avenged the loss with a 2-1 win in the Section 3 semifinal.
  • The Edina Holiday Classic debuted as a four team tournament at the Met Center, its home for the next 10 years. Hill-Murray played in the Classic off and on, which was later moved to the St. Paul Civic Center and Braemar Arena.

12/7St. Paul Central*16-1WAldrich
12/14St. Paul Humboldt*17-5WAldrich
12/19St. Paul Highland Park*14-1WAldrich
12/21St. Paul Como Park*10-2WAldrich
12/29White Bear Lake2-4LMet Center
12/30Coon Rapids6-0WMet Center
1/4St. Thomas Academy*4-1WAldrich
1/11St. Paul Harding*6-2WAldrich
1/14St. Paul Johnson*1-4LAldrich
1/16South St. Paul4-2WColiseum
1/23St. Paul Central*15-0WColiseum
1/25Cretin*4-3W (OT)Aldrich
1/28St. Paul Humboldt*6-0WColiseum
2/1St. Paul Highland Park*11-1WAldrich
2/6St. Paul Como Park*9-1WColiseum
2/8St. Thomas Academy*5-3WAldrich
2/10Roch. John Marshall9-4WAldrich
2/13St. Paul Harding*7-2WAldrich
2/15St. Paul Johnson*5-2WColiseum
Section 3 Playoffs
2/27Spring Lake Park12-0WAldrich
2/29White Bear Lake2-1WColiseum
3/2Stillwater3-1WMet Center
State Tournament
3/8St. Paul Johnson2-3LSt. Paul Civic Center
3/9Burnsville2-4LSt. Paul Civic Center

Final Record 22-4-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Terry Skrypek
Assistant: Bill Lechner

1Rick HorvathG105' 7" 145
2Mark Stonich (A)D126' 2" 175
3Dave SchwartzD116' 0" 165
4Mark NowickiD125' 11" 170
5Bob LeierD125' 9" 165
6Todd Norman (C)C,D126' 1" 175
7Mike RothD116' 2" 215
8Paul SykfoW126' 2" 185
9Dave GriffithD116' 0" 185
10Tony Curella (A)W125' 8" 165
11Tom GraskeW116' 1" 185
12Jeff ThomasW125' 8" 165
14Phil ZelenakC115' 9" 150
15Ted BeaulieuW125' 11" 180
16Jim BoryczkaW125' 10" 165
17Mark JohnsonC105' 11" 150
18Jim JireleC125' 8" 155
19Steve RohlikW105' 11" 155
20Steve HurtW126' 3" 185
21Tim GalashG125' 10" 165

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net