1985-1986 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 2nd Place
Section 3 Champion
St. Paul City Conference Champion
  • Burnsville defeated Hill-Murray in the state championship game, avenging a loss in the Edina Holiday Classic and snapping the Pioneers' 17 game win streak. It was also a rematch of the '85 championship game and Burnsville's third straight win over Hill-Murray in the state tournament.
  • Edina and Hill-Murray were ranked #1 and #2 at the end of the regular season and were destined to meet in the first round of the tournament, but Richfield and future NHL goaltender Damian Rhodes upset the Hornets in sectional play.
  • Steve Rohlik was captain of the 1990 NCAA Champion Wisconsin Badgers, a team that also included Tray Tuomie and 1987 graduate Joe Harwell. Rohlik became the head coach at Hill-Murray from 1993-1997 and later coached Ohio State.
  • The Hill-Murray uniform once again included breezers and leggings, a switch from Cooperalls which had been used since the early '80s.
  • This was the last season in which high school hockey did not have a center red line.

12/13Roch. John Marshall5-1WAldrich
12/14St. Paul Humboldt*17-0WAldrich
12/18St. Thomas Academy*6-2WColiseum
12/21St. Paul Johnson*6-0WAldrich
12/26Burnsville7-5WMet Center
12/27Edina2-5LMet Center
1/8St. Paul Highland Park*8-1WAldrich
1/11St. Paul Harding*7-0WAldrich
1/18St. Paul Johnson*9-2WAldrich
1/22St. Thomas Academy*5-3WAldrich
1/25St. Paul Como Park*8-1WAldrich
1/29St. Paul Central*18-0WAldrich
2/1Minnetonka5-3WMinnetonka Arena
2/8St. Paul Harding*5-2WAldrich
2/12St. Paul Johnson*8-2WColiseum
2/15St. Thomas Academy*4-1WColiseum
Twin City Game
2/17Mpls. South7-0WAldrich
Section 3 Playoffs
2/24Forest Lake7-0WAldrich
2/26North St. Paul4-1WColiseum
2/28White Bear Lake4-2WMet Center
State Tournament
3/6Richfield5-3WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/7Hibbing5-4WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/8Burnsville1-4LSt. Paul Civic Center

Final Record 24-3-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Terry Skrypek
Assistant: Bill Lechner

1Rick HorvathG125' 7" 150
2Sean FabianD116' 1" 190
3Shane AndersonD125' 11" 175
4Trent WhitcombD126' 3" 220
5Tom ShockD125' 11" 170
6Craig QuinlanD116' 2" 180
7Doc DelCastilloW115' 7" 168
8Brian OrloskeW105' 6" 160
9Nick GerebiW116' 0" 175
10Mark Johnson (A)C125' 11" 160
11Todd ValentoW126' 2" 205
12Dan MillerW116' 1" 180
14Dave BoryczkaC115' 9" 157
15Tray TuomieC125' 11" 160
16Tony ReifW115' 10" 160
17Tom Quinlan (A)W126' 3" 195
18Jeff BlumerW116' 0" 175
19Steve Rohlik (C)W126' 0" 180
20Tony SchmalzbauerD126' 2" 215
21Todd TiedensG105' 9" 155

Mr. Hockey Finalist: Tom Quinlan
All-tournament team: Tom Quinlan
Pioneer Press All-metro: Rick Horvath

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net