1987-1988 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 2nd Place
Section 3 Champion
Twin Cities Suburban Champion
  • After starting 3-5, Hill-Murray won 19 in a row to advance to the school's fourth championship game in six years. Defenseman Brian Krois scored an overtime goal in the state quarterfinal, and Hill-Murray defeated second ranked Jefferson in the state semifinal.
  • 1976 graduate Jeff Whisler became the first former player to coach Hill-Murray after Terry Skrypek left after 14 years to coach St. Thomas College. Whisler also coached at Mahtomedi before and after his four year stint at Hill-Murray.
  • After being booted from the St. Paul City Conference, Hill-Murray joined the new Twin Cities Suburban Conference, along with seven other schools formerly in the North Suburban or St. Paul Suburban. The TCS proved to be much more competitive and challenged the Lake as the toughest conference in the state.
  • Hill-Murray played in the South St. Paul Premier Tournament for the first of three years. They lost in the final the first two and won in 1989.

12/4Roch. John Marshall3-6LAldrich
12/10Edina5-7LBraemar Arena
12/19Blake4-2WBlake Arena
12/28Virginia5-1WWakota Arena
12/29Roch. John Marshall5-4WWakota Arena
12/30Robbinsdale Armstrong1-4LWakota Arena
1/7Roseville*2-4LRoseville Arena
1/14Coon Rapids*5-3WCook Arena
1/21White Bear Lake*3-1WAldrich
1/23Forest Lake*6-3WAldrich
2/2South St. Paul7-5WWakota Arena
2/4Blaine*5-1WFogerty Arena
2/6Coon Rapids*5-1WAldrich
2/13White Bear Lake*3-1WAldrich
2/16Forest Lake*7-3WForest Lake Arena
2/18Anoka*3-0WAnoka Arena
Section 3 Playoffs
2/29Spring Lake Park4-0WAldrich
3/2White Bear Lake5-4W (2OT)Coliseum
3/4Osseo5-1WMet Center
State Tournament
3/10Roch. John Marshall4-3W (OT)St. Paul Civic Center
3/11Bloomington Jefferson6-3WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/12Edina3-5LSt. Paul Civic Center

Final Record 22-6-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Jeff Whisler
Assistant: Bob Schwartz

1Scott CardinalG125' 10" 160
2Mark Luger (A)D126' 0" 180
3Pat SchafhauserD116' 2" 190
4Jason NavarroD115' 10" 185
5Joe SchwartzD116' 0" 185
6Jim ScottD125' 10" 170
7Jon RuppelF105' 10" 175
8Todd MontpetitF125' 8" 155
9Tim CarrollF125' 8" 155
10Mike HansenF115' 10" 160
11Mike Hurley (A)F125' 11" 165
12Jeff MosleyF115' 9" 170
14Craig JohnsonF106' 0" 160
15Mark TollefsbolF126' 0" 190
16Greg HagenF115' 10" 165
17Brent Sergot (C)F125' 10" 170
18Mike CollinsF115' 10" 165
19Paul DinzeoF126' 0" 185
20Brian KroisD125' 10" 170
21Todd TiedensG125' 10" 175

All-tournament team: Mike Hurley

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net