1988-1989 Hill-Murray Hockey

Twin Cities Suburban Champion
  • Hill-Murray won a very competitive Twin Cities Suburban conference by a half game over White Bear Lake, despite a loss and tie to the Bears. However, White Bear Lake defeated Hill-Murray for the first time in sectional play in double overtime in the semifinal. Stillwater finished seventh in the TCS but made in to overtime in the section final before losing to White Bear.
  • Hill-Murray played North Suburban conference champion Irondale following the regular season, similar to the Twin City Game between the St. Paul and Minneapolis city conference champions. But the format didn't catch on and this was the last such game played by a Hill-Murray team.
  • All-state defenseman Pat Schafhauser went on to play at Boston College and professionally in Europe, but a spinal injury ended his playing career. He later coached Hill-Murray's defense for 25 years, during which the team won over 500 games and two state championships, with the defense consistently recognized for its excellence.

12/6Roch. John Marshall7-4WRochester RC
12/13St. Thomas Academy11-1WColiseum
12/17Blaine*5-4W (OT)Fogerty Arena
12/22South St. Paul6-3WColiseum
12/28Duluth Denfeld4-2WWakota Arena
12/29Simley6-4WWakota Arena
12/30Roch. John Marshall4-6LWakota Arena
1/5Coon Rapids*6-3WAldrich
1/12White Bear Lake*1-5LAldrich
1/14Forest Lake*10-2WForest Lake Arena
1/21Roseville*2-2T (OT)Roseville Arena
1/28Coon Rapids*5-3WCook Arena
1/31Edina4-5L (OT)Coliseum
2/4White Bear Lake*3-3T (OT)Aldrich
2/7Forest Lake*7-1WAldrich
2/9Anoka*3-4LAnoka Arena
Suburban Playoff
2/11Irondale4-7LColumbia Arena
Section 3 Playoffs
2/20Spring Lake Park7-3WAldrich
2/22White Bear Lake3-4L (2OT)Coliseum

Final Record 17-6-2

Varsity Roster

Coach: Jeff Whisler
Assistant: Bob Schwartz, Paul Joswiak

1Joe GrundfeldtG126' 0" 185
2Jeff HasselmanF105' 8" 150
3Pat Schafhauser (C)D126' 2" 195
4Jason NavarroD125' 10" 185
5Scott HallerF125' 11" 170
6Tom EnglundD106' 2" 170
7Jon RuppelF116' 0" 185
8Dan HofstetterF115' 11" 170
9Kevin WoodF125' 10" 155
10Mike HansenF126' 0" 170
11Tony GrubaF116' 0" 200
12Jeff MosleyF125' 9" 175
14Craig JohnsonF116' 1" 170
15Tony DelGrecoF125' 11" 175
16Greg Hagen (A)F125' 11" 175
17Troy MillerF115' 7" 150
18Mike CollinsF126' 0" 180
19Jason HougeD115' 8" 150
20Joe SchwartzD126' 0" 185
21Shawn MurrayG115' 11" 160

Pioneer Press All-state team: Pat Schafhauser
Pioneer Press All-metro team: Pat Schafhauser, Craig Johnson
All-conference: Craig Johnson, Greg Hagen, Mike Collins, Pat Schafhauser
Honorable mention: Joe Grundfeldt, Mike Hansen, Joe Schwartz, Kevin Wood

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net