1989-1990 Hill-Murray Hockey

Twin Cities Suburban Co-Champion
South St. Paul Premier Tournament Champion
  • Hill-Murray and White Bear Lake shared the Twin Cities Suburban conference championship as the teams split the two regular season meetings. They appeared destined for a rematch in the section final, but Park upset Hill-Murray in the semifinal, which was the first three overtime game in school history.
  • Senior captain Craig Johnson went on to play for the University of Minnesota, the U.S. Olympic team, and a 10-year NHL career. He was one of three players traded to Los Angeles when St. Louis acquired Wayne Gretzky in 1996.
  • White Bear Lake won Section 3 for the second year in a row, then lost to state #2 Roseau in the first round of the tournament. Roseau defeated #1 Grand Rapids in the championship game, becoming the first northern state champion since Grand Rapids in 1980.

12/1Roch. John Marshall5-0WAldrich
12/6South St. Paul5-2WWakota Arena
12/8Cretin-Derham Hall10-2WAldrich
12/16Burnsville3-1WBurnsville Arena
12/28St. Paul Johnson4-3W (OT)Wakota Arena
12/29Burnsville5-3WWakota Arena
12/30Wayzata5-2WWakota Arena
1/2Blaine*4-3W (OT)Aldrich
1/6Coon Rapids*0-4LCook Arena
1/13White Bear Lake*2-4LAldrich
1/18Forest Lake*6-2WAldrich
1/20Anoka*3-1WAnoka Arena
1/23Edina4-5LBraemar Arena
1/27Blaine*7-2WFogerty Arena
2/1Coon Rapids*6-0WAldrich
2/8White Bear Lake*3-2WAldrich
2/10Forest Lake*4-2WForest Lake Arena
2/15Roseville*6-3WRoseville Arena
Section 3 Playoffs
2/28Park3-4L (3OT)Coliseum

Final Record 19-5-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Jeff Whisler
Assistant: Bob Schwartz

1Don MonsonG110' 0" 0
1Kevin PowellG100' 0" 0
2Troy DavisF110' 0" 0
3Brian LeQueD110' 0" 0
4Rick FuerstD110' 0" 0
5Nate GillespieF,D110' 0" 0
6Kevin GosselinD120' 0" 0
7Jon RuppelF120' 0" 0
8Jason DarioF120' 0" 0
9Jeff HasselmanC110' 0" 0
10Troy MillerF120' 0" 0
11Tony Gruba (A)F120' 0" 0
12Brad MarshallF100' 0" 0
14Craig Johnson (C)C120' 0" 0
15Dan HofstetterF120' 0" 0
16Brad MeehanF110' 0" 0
17Mike StrobelF110' 0" 0
18Mark StrobelF,D110' 0" 0
19Jason HougeD120' 0" 0
20Tom EnglundD110' 0" 0
21Shawn Murray (A)G120' 0" 0

Pioneer Press All-state: Craig Johnson (1st team), Shawn Murray (3rd team)
Honorable mention: Tony Gruba
Mr. Hockey finalist: Craig Johnson

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net