1992-1993 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 2nd Place
Section 3 Champion
Twin Cities Suburban Champion
  • Steve Rohlik succeeded Bob Schwartz as head coach; Schwartz left Hill-Murray after one season to become a firefighter. After winning a national championship with Wisconsin as a player, Rohlik was an assistant coach under Bill Lechner at Stillwater before returning to Hill-Murray.
  • The Pioneers defeated White Bear Lake three times in the regular season, all one goal games, before breaking the six year overtime streak in the section semifinal with a 7-1 win over the Bears.
  • Given their recent history, Hill-Murray made it through Section 3 with relative ease in '93, winning three games by a combined 23-4 score. This was the last year that hockey was played at the Met Center.
  • Down 3-0 after seven minutes, backup goalie Dave Gilbert was summoned and did not allow a goal the rest of the game, and Hill-Murray scored five unanswered goals against Moorhead to reach the school's seventh state championship game in 14 years.
  • The state tournament field featured some very high quality teams in Moorhead, Cloquet, Hill-Murray, and Elk River. Moorhead and Cloquet entered the tourney with one loss each and met in the first round, a 6-5 Moorhead win. But none were any match for Bloomington Jefferson, which completed its undefeated season and won three tourney games by a combined 14-3.
  • The '93 tournament also was witness to many star individual players, including future NHLers Mike Crowley and Mark Parrish (Jefferson), Matt Cullen (Moorhead), Jamie Langenbrunner (Cloquet), and Dan Hinote (Elk River). Other standouts included Ryan Kraft (Moorhead), Sergei Petrov (Cloquet), Joe Bianchi and Nick Checco (Jefferson), and Jason Godbout (Hill-Murray).

12/10Coon Rapids*8-0WCook Arena
12/12Forest Lake*8-1WAldrich
12/22South St. Paul6-3WWakota Arena
12/26Burnsville3-2WMet Center
12/28Moorhead5-7LMet Center
12/29White Bear Lake3-2WMet Center
1/9Blaine*5-3WFogerty Arena
1/16White Bear Lake*2-1WAldrich
1/21Champlin Park*8-2WAnoka Arena
1/23Coon Rapids*4-3W (OT)Aldrich
1/28Forest Lake*7-2WForest Lake Arena
1/30Roch. John Marshall6-1WRochester RC
2/4Anoka*7-6W (OT)Anoka Arena
2/6Roseville*4-3W (OT)Roseville Arena
2/18White Bear Lake*6-5WAldrich
2/20Champlin Park*7-0WAldrich
Section 3 Tier I Playoffs
3/3White Bear Lake7-1WColiseum
3/5Tartan6-2WMet Center
State Tournament
3/11Park Center3-2WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/12Moorhead5-3WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/13Bloomington Jefferson0-4LSt. Paul Civic Center

Final Record 24-4-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Steve Rohlik
Assistant: Dave Schwartz, Tony Curella

1Dave GilbertG125' 7" 155
2Frank SavinoF115' 11" 165
3Tyler BerqualF115' 9" 160
4Jeff BlossomD116' 0" 185
5Matt MuellnerD116' 0" 170
6Shawn GosselinD125' 11" 165
7Brent Godbout (C)F126' 1" 190
8Mike DeRuyckF115' 11" 165
9Brad DoppF125' 10" 165
10Dan HurleyF116' 0" 185
11Jon BrassF,D116' 3" 185
12Chad Brennan (C)F126' 1" 175
14Aaron LaszloF125' 10" 165
15Mark SmithF116' 0" 180
16Christian GrahamD116' 0" 190
17Jason GodboutD115' 11" 185
18Mike GoveronskiF125' 10" 170
19Steve PignatoF125' 11" 175
20Jerry WukawitzD126' 0" 175
21Fred HennenG115' 10" 150

Pioneer Press All-state: Jason Godbout
Honorable mention: Chad Brennan, Brent Godbout
All-tournament team: Brent Godbout, Jason Godbout
Mr. Hockey finalist: Brent Godbout

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net