1993-1994 Hill-Murray Hockey

Section 3AA 2nd Place
Twin Cities Suburban East Champion
  • The Twin Cities Suburban split into west and east after the addition of five new schools. Irondale and Mounds View played in the east, and Osseo, Park Center, and Elk River joined the west, along with Champlin Park, a new school which had joined the conference in 1993. Only intra-division games counted towards the standings, but teams played four non-conference games against the opposite division.
  • The Minnesota state high school league changed to a two-class format based on enrollment. Hockey coaches again were divided on the proposal. Many were opposed to a same-week, same-site tournament or favored a 'Sweet 16' single champion format. Hill-Murray qualified as a Class A (small) school but opted to play with the large schools.
  • The Hill-Murray uniforms changed to green, black, and white; no more gold.
  • A lack of scoring in the second half of the season prompted Hill-Murray players to start celebrating goals by sprinting directly to the team bench. The 'Pioneer Leap' tradition persisted throughout the rest of the '90s.
  • White Bear Lake won the section final in overtime, the first loss by a Hill-Murray team in 16 section finals. The Bears started the season 0-5-1, but later went on a winning streak including a 6-2 win over the Pioneers at Aldrich Arena in February.
  • Hill-Murray's only other losses were to two-time defending champion Jefferson and state #1 Elk River, whose only blemish during the regular season was a tie against #2 Jefferson.
  • Elk River lost the Section 8 final in four overtimes to Moorhead, which finished the season ranked third along with Hill-Murray. Jefferson wound up defeating Moorhead 3-1 for its third straight championship.
  • Dave Langevin Hall-of-Fame night was held Dec. 21 at Mariucci Arena, the first high school game played at the new Mariucci Arena.
  • Four-year defenseman Jason Godbout anchored a defense that allowed only 37 goals in 25 games, the fewest by a Hill-Murray team since 1975. Godbout was named to the all-state team for the third time and later joined his brother Brent at the University of Minnesota.
  • Frank Savino played at St. Mary's University where he rose to third on the school's all-time goals and points scored registers. #1 on both lists is former Hill-Murray coach Andre Beaulieu. Savino was the MIAC MVP in 1997.

12/4Edina4-1WBraemar Arena
12/11Elk River1-3LElk River Arena
12/16Coon Rapids8-1WAldrich
12/18Park Center7-0WBrooklyn Park Arena
12/21South St. Paul4-1WMariucci Arena
12/27Bloomington Jefferson3-5LSt. Paul Civic Center
12/28Burnsville4-0WSt. Paul Civic Center
12/29Bloomington Kennedy4-0WSt. Paul Civic Center
1/8Mounds View*7-0WAldrich
1/13White Bear Lake*5-3WAldrich
1/15Forest Lake*8-1WForest Lake Arena
2/3Mounds View*4-1WRoseville Arena
2/5White Bear Lake*2-6LAldrich
2/8Roch. John Marshall5-2WAldrich
2/10Forest Lake*6-2WAldrich
2/17Roseville*5-2WRoseville Arena
Section 3AA Playoffs
3/5White Bear Lake1-2L (OT)Mariucci Arena

Final Record 21-4-0

Varsity Roster

Coach: Steve Rohlik
Assistant: Dave Schwartz, Steve Hurt

1Adam QuigleyG115' 8" 145
7Brian WaldoD116' 1" 180
8Mike DeRuyckF126' 0" 175
9Matt RomaniskiF116' 1" 185
10Dan HurleyF126' 0" 180
11Brian HurleyF115' 9" 150
12Frank SavinoF126' 0" 175
14Rick KlosnerF115' 10" 155
15Jim GreeleyF125' 10" 165
16Christian GrahamD126' 1" 195
17Jason Godbout (C)D126' 0" 185
18Tim WolfeF105' 10" 150
19Mark SmithF126' 1" 185
21Fred HennenG125' 11" 155
22Jeff Blossom (A)D126' 0" 190
24Scott RizzardiF126' 1" 185
25Jon BrassF,D126' 3" 190
27Tyler BerqualF125' 10" 165
28Brett BlairF116' 0" 180

Pioneer Press All-state: Jason Godbout (1st team)
Honorable mention: Jeff Blossom, Christian Graham, Fred Hennen, Mark Smith
Mr. Hockey finalist: Jason Godbout

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net