2014-2015 Hill-Murray Hockey

Section 4AA Champion
Metro East Co-Champion
  • As Aldrich Arena's lone remaining tenant, Hill-Murray converted the arena into a true home-ice venue, including the construction of new team lockerrooms on the west end of the building.
  • The Classic Suburban was renamed the Metro East Conference, but the core group of schools remained the same, other than Hastings replacing Richfield. As the decade went on, Hill-Murray played more conference opponents once instead of twice, resulting in more non-conference games. Games against one-time conference opponents were worth double points in conference standings.
  • Hill-Murray saw its offensive output drop from what it had been, posting the fewest goals scored in a season since 2003. The team's strength was its defense, which included a four year letterwinner (Davis Zarembinski), Reed Larson winner (Jacob Olson), future Mr. Hockey finalist (Casey Staum), and future NHL player (Mikey Anderson).
  • The Pioneers reclaimed the Section 4 title with a 4-0 win against Stillwater, in the first section final played at Aldrich Arena.
  • Hill-Murray's nine losses were all to seeded tournament teams (#1 Lakeville North, twice, #2 Edina, twice, #3 STA, #4 Blaine, twice, #5 Eden Prairie, and #2A Mahtomedi).
  • Hill-Murray played an outdoor game against St. Thomas Academy at Holman Field in St. Paul, winning 3-2 in overtime. Those teams split the Metro East title.
  • Lakeville North went 31-0 to complete the first undefeated season by a large school in 22 years. Edina's only regular season loss was to Lakeville North, but lost the state semifinal to Duluth East, who finished second despite a .500 regular season in which they were outscored.

Sat12/6Benilde-St. Margaret's5-3WSt. Louis Park RC2:30
Tue12/16Blaine3-4LFogerty Arena7:30
Thu12/18South St. Paul*7-2WAldrich7:30
Sat12/20Maple Grove3-0WAldrich7:30
Tue12/23Lakeville North3-4LAldrich7:30
Mon12/29Eden Prairie2-3L (OT)Ridder Arena2:30
Tue12/30Eastview5-1WRidder Arena12:00
Wed12/31Edina1-3LSuper Rink12:30
Sat1/3North St. Paul*9-1WAldrich7:30
Tue1/6Wayzata2-1WPlymouth Ice Center7:00
Sat1/10Edina3-6LBraemar Arena7:00
Thu1/15Tartan*2-1W (OT)Tartan Arena7:30
Sat1/17St. Thomas Academy*3-2W (OT)Holman Field1:30
Thu1/22Henry Sibley*7-0WWest St. Paul Arena7:30
Sat1/24Mahtomedi*0-4LSt. Croix RC5:30
Sat1/31White Bear Lake2-1WVadnais Sports Center7:15
Thu2/5Hastings*6-0WHastings Arena7:30
Sat2/7St. Thomas Academy*2-4LAldrich7:30
Sat2/14Moorhead2-1W (OT)Aldrich2:30
Section 4AA Playoffs
Sat2/21North St. Paul5-0WAldrich11 AM
Tue2/24Mounds View5-2WAldrich7:00
State Tournament
Thu3/5Lakeville North1-4LXcel Energy Center6:00
Fri3/6Blaine2-3L (OT)Mariucci Arena12:00

Final Record 21-9-0

Section 4AA Bracket

State Tournament Bracket

News Archive

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Tony Ciro

1Jake BegleyG105' 11" 155000
6Frank SeilerF125' 11" 185303
7Davis Zarembinski (C)D126' 0" 18082230
8Luke RanalloF115' 11" 185448
9Kyler YeoF106' 2" 170549
10Joey BaumannF115' 11" 160123
11Noah OndrusikF125' 11" 165202
12Tyler NowakF125' 8" 18081523
14Zach Mills (C)F125' 10" 175232245
15Dylan MillsF96' 2" 19051217
16Austin PetersonF,D115' 10" 170257
17Sean RyanD115' 10" 185145
18Jacob OlsonD126' 3" 21592231
19Casey StaumD115' 11" 180088
20Brock BremerF105' 5" 14531114
21Jake WittlF125' 11" 17511819
22Marko ReifenbergerF106' 0" 170182341
24Mikey AndersonD95' 11" 1958715
25Ricky ZellmerF125' 10" 160224
27Will SonntagD105' 10" 155000
33Sean WendlandtG126' 3" 175000

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
Sean Wendlandt789322.0730790.610-6-0
Jake Begley746221.5026092.211-3-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Reed Larson Award: Jacob Olson
Star Tribune All-metro: Davis Zarembinski
Pioneer Press All-East metro: Zach Mills, Jacob Olson

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net