2012-2013 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 2nd Place
Section 4AA Champion
Classic Suburban Champion
Schwan Cup Gold Division Champion
  • The 2013 Pioneers were one of the best teams in school history, with a 27-3-1 record that included victories over most of the state's other top teams. That earned them the #1 end-of-season ranking and #1 tournament seed for the first time since tourney seeding began in 2007. With a deeply talented roster, this team had the school's highest season shot total to date.
  • Unlike the two previous #1 ranked Hill-Murray teams, this team made it to the state tournament, but needed a 1-0 nail-biter in the section final to get there. Defenseman Davis Zarembinski scored no goals in the regular season, but scored the winning goal in the 1-0 section final and third period tying goal in the 2-1 state semifinal.
  • Hill-Murray defeated every opponent they played, avenging previous losses to St. Thomas Academy and Wayzata, but suffering the reverse fate against Edina in the state championship game after defeating the Hornets 2-1 in January.
  • The Pioneers defeated Benilde-St. Margaret's 4-2 in December in a rematch of the 2012 state championship game. BSM was also a favorite in 2013 but lost their section final to Wayzata.
  • Hill-Murray won the Schwan Cup Gold Division for the second time, by winning a shootout against St. Thomas Academy after the teams had tied. STA went on to win the Class A championship for the third consecutive year before opting up to AA.
  • Tartan went 20-4-1 and finished third in the CSC, including a tie against STA that gave HM sole possession of the CSC title. The Titans' only regular season losses were to HM (AA tourney #1 seed), Duluth East (AA tourney #2 seed), and STA (A tourney #1 seed), but lost to Roseville in the Section 4AA quarterfinal.
  • Zach LaValle finished his fifth season of varsity hockey and second season as captain, setting the school's all time points (198) and assists (114) records.
  • John Dugas had one of the best seasons ever by a Pioneer goaltender, and finished second for the Brimsek Award to STA's David Zednik.
  • Eighth-grader Joey Anderson was moved up to varsity midway through the season and immediately became a contributor on the team's second line.

Sat12/1Eagan3-2W (OT)Eagan Arena3:30
Tue12/4Lakeville South5-0WAldrich7:30
Sat12/8Benilde-St. Margaret's4-2WSt. Louis Park RC7:00
Thu12/13South St. Paul*3-0WWakota Arena7:30
Sat12/15St. Thomas Academy*1-2LSt. Thomas Arena7:30
Tue12/18White Bear Lake6-1WVadnais Sports Center7:30
Thu12/20Tartan*6-0WTartan Arena7:30
Sat12/22North St. Paul*6-0WAldrich7:30
Wed12/26Minnetonka2-1WRidder Arena12:00
Thu12/27Burnsville7-2WRidder Arena5:30
Fri12/28St. Thomas Academy3-3T (OT)Ridder Arena8:00
Sat1/5Edina2-1W (OT)Braemar Arena7:00
Sat1/12Wayzata1-3LPlymouth Ice Center7:00
Thu1/17Lakeville North7-0WAldrich7:30
Sat1/19South St. Paul*11-3WAldrich7:30
Thu1/24St. Thomas Academy*3-1WAldrich7:30
Thu1/31North St. Paul*8-4WPolar Arena8:00
Thu2/7Mahtomedi*7-0WSt. Croix RC7:30
Sat2/9Henry Sibley*7-0WAldrich2:30
Tue2/12Simley*10-2WVeterans Center (IGH)7:30
Section 4AA Playoffs
Sat2/23St. Paul Como Park12-1WAldrich11 AM
Fri3/1White Bear Lake1-0WColiseum8:30
State Tournament
Thu3/7Eastview6-3WXcel Energy Center6:00
Fri3/8Wayzata2-1WXcel Energy Center8:00
Sat3/9Edina2-4LXcel Energy Center7:00

Final Record 27-3-1

State Tournament Bracket

Section 4AA Bracket

Classic Suburban Standings

News Archive

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Tony Ciro

1John Dugas (C)G125' 10" 175000
2Casey RyanG126' 2" 185000
7Davis ZarembinskiD105' 10" 175459
8Joey AndersonF85' 10" 16591423
9Logan SharpD115' 10" 1702911
10Dusty KruegerF115' 10" 1752810
11Michael RawlingsF125' 10" 165538
12CJ LaChappelleF125' 11" 18010717
14Zach MillsF105' 10" 16071522
15Colten GreederF125' 9" 160101626
16Josh FrenchF115' 10" 160141933
17Willie BrownF115' 11" 185122638
18Jacob OlsonD106' 2" 195358
19Matt LittlerF125' 8" 1757411
20Darby ReganF115' 10" 170000
21Zach LaValle (C)F125' 11" 195273360
22Dan DolanD126' 0" 185156
25Ryan BlackD125' 10" 17051621
26Tyler FunkF115' 10" 180111728
27Sam BeckerD126' 0" 175102333
28Mitch SlatteryF115' 11" 185253358
33Sam IllgenG115' 8" 195000

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
John Dugas1418421.5157293.224-3-1
Casey Ryan6800.0011100.01-0-0
Sam Illgen10263.002882.42-0-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Mr. Hockey finalist: Zach LaValle
Frank Brimsek finalist: John Dugas
Pioneer Press Player of the Year: Zach LaValle
Star Tribune All-metro: Zach LaValle (1st team), Sam Becker (2nd team), John Dugas (2nd team)
All tournament team: John Dugas, Zach LaValle, Sam Becker, Mitch Slattery

Copyright 1999-2023 hmpioneers.net